How to Write Better Copy #LikeABoss [4/4]

Part 4: You are what you write.

You're reading Boss Creator Bulletin5-minute (or less) weekly insights empowering you to become a more confident content creator. If you enjoy reading this issue, please give me a ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ review [here]. Thanks!

Welcome to the final part of our four-part Write Better Copy series.

💡Get caught up:

- Part 1 - Accuracy

- Part 2 - Clear + Concise

- Part 3 - Authority

"Beware of sharing content lacking soul."

~jh

#SoGuilty

My confession: I often neglect to share personal experiences or specific results with you in my haste to deliver brevity. 

But please rest assured that in every issue of Boss Creator Bulletin, I'm not guessing, sharing hyperbole, or speculating because I've been in the digital marketing game since 2002 when I launched my first entrepreneurial endeavor. 

Since then, I've worked with clients launching brands while helping entertainers, entrepreneurs, and nonprofit leaders build and grow businesses and organizations. 

I've helped first-time authors publish books and new creators launch blogs and podcasts. I share what I've learned from execution and experience, but I don't always tell you that, which is a significant oversight on my part. My bad.

Sharing what I know (authority) is different from sharing how I know something or how I know why it works, which brings me to today's topic.

Authenticity: (noun) authentic; genuine; being precisely what is claimed; entirely trustworthy.

Part 4 - Authenticity: 

Can your audience relate to you and your experiences? When you speak from personal experiences, you offer common ground that builds rapport, credibility, and trust—what I refer to as talking with someone rather than at them.

How? You could share content that speaks to a younger version of yourself and show how you achieved a goal or milestone, which can help your readers see themselves in your journey. 

By showing how you got to where you are, you demonstrate the possibility of your reader getting there, too.

You're not offering guarantees but a guide from steps you've taken.

In short, authenticity in your content helps your readers relate to you because you're saying to them, I've been there and understand what you feel because I felt that way when I was where you are now.

I started my career in marketing as a PR assistant. Then, I was a full-time project manager for a media publishing company and an on-camera/theatre professional when I launched my boutique media production business. As an artist and marketing professional, I learned the ins and outs of storytelling.   

Are you (or were you) a corporate professional exploring entrepreneurial life for the first (second or third) time? Or perhaps you've always had a creative heart that now fuels your solopreneur pursuits. I can relate. 

Boss Creator Bulletin exists because I've been where you are trying to figure out what to write to attract new readers and clients or how to make a living sharing content (via a blog, business, or podcast). Over the years, I learned how to write better copy, so now I can share what I've learned with you. 

We're just getting started, so stick around to take full advantage of 3-minute (or less) content creation tips, resources, and first-hand insights from me, a Boss Creator like you. 

Thanks for reading.

~Jae

P.S. Was this forwarded to you? Get next week's issue in your inbox [here].

👋🏾 Hey, I'm Jasmine (but you can call me Jae)—your friendly neighborhood content creator & strategist. Let's connect on LinkedIn or Bluesky!

Rave about me 🤩 // Go BTS 👀 // Shop tools 🤓 // Earn easy money 💥

Reply

or to participate.