What I Learned About Marketing vs. Storytelling

A Solopreneur's Mini-Writing Guide from a Reformed Marketing Gal (that's me!)

Hey! Jae here. It’s great to be back in your inbox! I hope all is well in your world. Since it’s been a minute… Welcome (back) to Boss Creator Bulletinone weekly value-packed insight empowering you to become a more confident content creator. Let’s get to it!

Ah, writing... You love, loathe it, or strive like heck to get better at it because you understand that writing is a powerful tool for sharing impactful content and engaging stories.

But writing is only one way to tell a story. Performing arts like acting, dance, movie-making, spoken-word poetry, and painting are equally powerful and potentially lucrative storytelling outlets.

Storytelling's common thread is sharing authentic stories and heart-centered experiences, no matter the medium.

Stories activate sensory neurotransmitters that influence memory and emotion. They also trigger the release of oxytocin—the feel-good brain juice that builds trust, empathy, and compassion.

Our brains like stories, because clear narratives cut through distractions. Stories help us pay attention–particularly in this attention era, when vying for people's focus is more coveted than ever.

The NeuroLeadership Institute

I knew I wanted to be an actress the first time I saw Diana Ross in Lady Sings the Blues. I couldn't tell you how old I was, but I remember feeling like she was the luckiest person in the world because she could convey the breadth of an entire life with so much emotion and feeling (fear, anger, sadness, excitement, love, etc.) in under two hours.

Then, in a heart-skip, she did it again in The Wiz! But this time, those emotions we saw from a tormented yet brilliant blues singer became a 24-year-old, emotionally fragile young teacher from Harlem! As my step-grandson often says, "What da?!"

How'd she do that? She embodied powerful and dynamic storytelling!

Marketing isn't sales or advertising. Marketing is simply strategic storytelling.

Strategic storytelling is sharing your insights and expertise as a memory, reflection, or learned lesson to lead your readers to discover how they can use your experience to garner similar (or better) results with your product, program, or service.

Strategic storytelling draws your readers in with compelling emotional cues unique to you, the storyteller.

However, marketing (strategic storytelling) as a creative solopreneur doesn't always require a "Once upon a time..." or "There I was in Vegas..." approach.

Your language style and tone also tell a story about you. You are what you write.

So, while I sometimes share childhood memories, my writing maintains a comfortable, informal style (because I'm not fancy), and it's my way of emphasizing the ease of storytelling.

However, adopting the "Boss" moniker and casual storytelling style wasn't easy. It took me over two decades to (mostly) crush writing success bottlenecks:

  • Impostor Syndrome (mindset)

  • Developing a unique creative voice (content creation)

  • Honing methods and systems (productivity)

Here's your shortcut:

1Lay your foundation. Create "belief beacons" and positive self-affirmations to focus. The stories we tell ourselves set the tone for the stories we tell others. 

2Own your truth. Hone your unique creative voice—your brand. There is no other you, so own that #LikeABoss. 

3Do yo thang! Nobody's coming to get you* or give you a magic formula. Create your own system with a schedule for writing and a plan to publish your stories consistently. 

Besides marketing for a business, you should publish your writing because you never know who your stories will inspire. Plus, you'll have a creative outlet for your feelings, business expertise, and life experiences.

Of course, now you're wondering what became of my childhood acting pursuit. As a starry-eyed youth, I learned every line and lyric Diana Ross ever recited in hopes of one day gracing the silver screen as a leading lady.

Twenty years ago (in my late 30s... ahem), I casually told a friend about my unrealized acting dream at a cocktail party. A woman behind me overheard and said she was in a show that needed a replacement for one of the leads. In my slightly inebriated haste, I gave her my number, and to my surprise, I got a call from the show's director the next day.

I auditioned and got the part! That show took me on a national tour, which led to a resume of nearly 20 theatre productions, ten commercials, six films, and one standup comedy stint.

Acting rekindled my love for storytelling, leading me to help others share their stories through writing and digital marketing.

The moral:

  • Confidently write about your life and what you know.

  • Adopt a writing style that is uniquely yours.

  • Systems work when you use them.

  • #JustDoIt - Your way.

Everyone's solopreneur path is different. So, if you want to explore a personalized step-by-step plan, get in touch for a chat. I'd love to help you along your storytelling journey.

Thanks for reading!

*A song from one of my new favorite bands, and managed by my boo!

👋🏾 Hey, I'm Jasmine (but you can call me Jae)—your friendly neighborhood content creator & strategist. Let's connect on LinkedIn or Bluesky!

Rave about me 🤩 // Go BTS 👀 // Shop tools 🤓 // Earn easy money 💥

Reply

or to participate.